Skip to content

Childlight Day #2

May 14, 2011

I’m so exhausted after today.  I got home around 6:30 and we’d been goingoingoing since 10:30.  It was GREAT just totally exhausting.  AND I have homework that I haven’t done yet, but it’ll be very fun.  Jake is going to help me (ssshhhh he doesn’t know yet 😉 )

So some points and highlights from today:

  • Stories work well for young children (my aunt was telling me this, too).  Seeing this in action I can see how, and I can see that it’s easier (though still challenging) to come up with a story based on yoga poses.
  • Lisa’s songs are pretty catchy — I’m still singing the yoga version of “ring around the rosie” in my head.
  • Simple things like yoga “wands” and misty spritz will help the relaxation.  Also, I’m totally going to make eye pillows.  I can’t wait!!
  • Partner yoga is really, really fun.
  • I still don’t do Warrior I easily.  I hate that pose!! It’s so easy but it torques my hips all funny like…..going to start practicing it more.
  • Still need to do more work on the 8 limbs.  And yama / niyama.  I think even though yoga doesn’t have to be all of that, it’s good to know.  Keeps up with the whole “holistic” thing.
  • Also, along those lines, I have sooo much more to learn.  Once again this was iterated to me today.  And I think more “seriously” studying will help.  I need a real-life yoga mentor — any takers? Boston area preferred.

The women in the class are all amazing.  It’s been great to learn from them.  I love how we are all helping each other!!  Very inspiring.  I particularly loved the affirmation session and partner/trust exercises.  In just 24 hours, less than that!!, we had established a community enough to really trust each other.  There wasn’t anything too hefty, which I think was appropriate, but considering we are training to teach kids (who need to learn to trust us), it’s really great to have that process in our training.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Franzi permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:09 pm

    🙂 love reading your thoughts on all the movement 🙂 You keep me going to!

Leave a Reply

