Skip to content

Beginner’s Yoga: Talking

April 6, 2011

A quick note for today:

I think teachers in Beginner’s yoga classes talk too much.  I get that students may need the teacher more, but I find in most cases, the talking just confuses them more.  It’s like stereotypical IT guys — they only know a handful of ways to explain something and so it ends up being repetitive.  (Note: This is not the case for exceptionally good beginner’s yoga teachers).

Show them, first off.  Not just the poses themselves but the transitions into it.  And give them silent time to figure out the pose(s) themselves, too, with your availability for adjustments.

What do you guys think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Franzi permalink
    May 2, 2011 4:49 am

    I think you hit the spot. I would look for the following things: seeing the poses and transitions, having time to try them myself with the teacher advising if necessary and then maybe doing it together. Since I am only using online videos to practice, which is not a lot but I don’t how to fit it in right now, I found that I need to pause them a lot in order to get catch my breath.

    Needing time!!! A good one dear 🙂

  2. Cat permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:50 am

    Agreed! I get distracted if you talk to much when I’m learning it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

